“If you hate it, please tell me!”

SEMESTER TWO

WEEK ONE: DESIGN

With this being our first session with Becky, we had an introductory lesson about the basics of design and what design actually means!

We were asked to bring in a book and recreate the cover design. I chose Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn as I think it is a very eye catching cover design but doesn’t exactly link to the story. With this being said, I came up with the idea of a smashed wine glass on the floor in a bathroom, with a door just cracked open so the reader can see only some of the scene. As this is a mystery, thriller novel I decided to play with that on my cover design and alter the angle that had originally been thought of.

With this being said however, I do actually like the original cover – I just had to change it!

We have to create a log of Book Cover designs for this module and I think this will be interesting to see why I favour certain designs over others!

Overall, this was a fabulous first lesson with Becky and I look forward to the rest of the design module. I suspect that I will learn a lot of practical skills that will benefit me in the future, whichever job role I decide to take!

Leave a Reply

