Typography

WEEK THREE: TYPOGRAPHY

Unfortunately I missed this lesson as I was sat in a hospital bed. With this being said however, I did catch up on some notes from friends and followed the slideshow from Becky.

Typography is so important for the final look of a book cover and it is interesting to see how some popular fonts are instantly recognisable. It is important to have a font that draws a customer in, as the text typically takes up the majority of the cover space.

All in all, I think the typography is going to be one of the hardest things to decide upon with my final project! I think that there is so much stigma attached to some fonts, i.e. Comic Sans that it is difficult to universally please an audience for one book cover. I imagine that it does involve a lot of trial and error and I look forward to discovering this on my journey through Design!

I have discovered that my fonts.com is a good website to look at different styled fonts and you can easily change the text and colour to suit your needs!

Leave a Reply

